Москва

+7 (499) 703 01 32
Call back

RU EN

mail@pnx-spb.ru

Общие сведения

GENERAL INFORMATION ON FOAM EXTINGUISHING TECHNOLOGIES

In late 1990s and early 2000s, new foam fire extinguishing technologies based on modern film-forming foam concentrates (AFFF, AFFF/AR, FFFP, etc.) began spreading in Russia. The very principle of eliminating combustion of flammable liquids has changed. Instead of isolating the fuel phase from atmospheric oxygen with a layer of medium-expansion foam, the insulation with a thin film of a foam concentrate solution, which is released from low-expansion foam concentrate, has been adopted.

The principle of eliminating combustion with medium-expansion foam with synthetic hydrocarbon foam concentrates of S type

The principle of eliminating combustion with low-expansion foam with synthetic fluorine-containing film-forming foam concentrates such as AFFF, AFFF/AR and AFFF/AR-LV

This reduces the time to extinguish fires and virtually eliminates the passage of oil vapor or oil products released from the heated layers of liquids through the layers of the foam concentrate and foam after the elimination of combustion. Thereby, the problem of burnback has been solved and the probability of contact of flammable liquids vapors with red-hot metal structures and explosions has been reduced. It has become possible to effectively use foam fire extinguishing installations to prevent fires and explosions in case of oil or oil product spills. A previously impossible method for subsurface suppression of flammable liquids has appeared. In other words, saying without exaggeration, the advent of new types of foam concentrates has brought a scientific and technological revolution in foam firefighting.

The creation of our Company in 2004 was due precisely to the emergence and development in Russia of innovative foam firefighting technologies, and therefore we orient our partners to modern types of foam concentrates and offer a whole range of firefighting equipment for the implementation of new foam firefighting technologies based thereon.

The advantages of new foam firefighting technologies are shown in the table below, as developed on the basis of GOST R 50588-2012.

Compared indicators Traditional foam fire extinguishing technologies Modern foam fire extinguishing technologies
Type of foam concentrate and the expansion ratio of applied foam synthetic hydrocarbon foam concentrate, medium-expansion foam film-forming foam concentrate, low-expansion foam
Extinguishing principle insulation of fuel phase from air with medium-expansion foam insulation of fuel phase from air with a thin insulating film released from the foam concentrate solution
Extinguishing time of a conventional fire according to GOST R 50588-2012, s, max 300 120
Burnback time*, s, min not standardized 330
Allowed to use to prevent explosions and fires of spills practically absent (limited to a few minutes) direct use (isolates fuel for up to 2-3 hours)
Spreadability on the surface of a combustible liquid is not standardized specified in GOST R 53280.2‑2010

Note

* The time indicator that the fuel phase is isolated from the air after putting out the fire. It characterizes the foam ability to prevent the passage of fuel phase vapor released from the heated layers after the elimination of combustion.

Extinguishing of n-heptane in the model fire source with various types of foam concentrates

Extinguishing with a medium-expansion foam of synthetic hydrocarbon foam concentrates of the S type

Extinguishing with low-expansion foam with synthetic fluorine-containing film-forming foam concentrates of the following types AFFF, AFFF/AR and AFFF/AR-LV

Burning of the model fire source

Extinguishing a model fire source

Model fire source extinguished

Protection against burnback

At about the same time, another new fire extinguishing method has appeared. The cubical fire extinguishing (by volume) with high-expansion foam significantly exceeds in all respects the volume fire extinguishing with medium-expansion foam. Suffice it to say that the foam expansion ratio of GPS-type generators is up to 100, and that of Favorit high-expansion foam generators reaches 800. At the same time, the use of film-forming foam concentrates is not required, since the principle of eliminating fire is to create a layer of high-expansion foam that fills the entire protected volume and does not support the combustion process.

Extinguishing by volume principle

In this case, the use of conventional synthetic foam concentrates is sufficient, and the novelty lies in the use of a new type equipment - ejection generators of high-expansion foam (GHPE).

High-expansion foam applied by a foam generator of the GHPE type

The new extinguishing principles have been confirmed by Russian and foreign researchers and adopted as international standards and regulatory framework of the Russian Federation. Today, technologies based on the use of film-forming foam concentrates are the priority for creating fire protection systems.

Along with new technologies, many facilities provide for traditional extinguishing methods in terms of area and volume with medium-expansion foam, which is also allowed by the regulatory documents of the Russian Federation. This is due to a large number of fire protection systems based on synthetic hydrocarbon foam concentrates created in previous years at various industrial facilities. Although in some cases the use of this method remains quite effective, the basis of such systems is foam fire extinguishing installations with an extensive network of solution pipelines. While expanding existing fire protection systems, the Pozhneftehim Group recommends considering the possibility of a phased reconstruction with the transition to new effective types of foam concentrates and related firefighting equipment. The main approaches to solving these problems are reflected in the presentation “Recommendations for the phased reconstruction of foam fire extinguishing systems (installations) with the transition to modern foam firefighting technologies”.

The Pozhneftehim Group offers a wide range of Aquafoam foam concentrates and wetting agents. The choice of the type of foam concentrate and its properties is one of the key issues in creating effective fire protection systems. Possible solutions to this issue are reflected in the presentation "Recommendations on the selection of the type and properties of foam concentrate in the design of fire extinguishing systems (installations)".

If you have any difficulties or questions when selecting foam fire extinguishing methods, types of foam concentrates and their properties, contact our specialists.

Москва

+7 (499) 703 01 32
перезвоните

mail@pnx-spb.ru

Общие сведения о технологиях пенного пожаротушения

В конце 90-х – начале 2000-х годов в России начали внедряться новые технологии пенного пожаротушения, основанные на применении современных плёнкообразующих пенообразователей (AFFF, AFFF/AR, FFFP и др.). Изменился сам принцип ликвидации горения горючих жидкостей. Вместо изоляции горючего от кислорода воздуха слоем пены средней кратности стала использоваться изоляция тонкой плёнкой раствора пенообразователя, которая выделяется из пены низкой кратности.

Принцип ликвидации горения пеной средней кратности синтетическими углеводородными пенообразователями типа S

Принцип ликвидации горения пеной низкой кратности синтетическими фторсодержащими плёнкообразующими пенообразователями типа AFFF, AFFF/AR и AFFF/AR-LV

Это позволяет сократить время тушения пожаров, практически исключить прохождение паров нефти или нефтепродуктов, выделяющихся из разогретых слоёв жидкостей, через слои раствора пенообразователя и пены после ликвидации горения. Тем самым, решена проблема повторных воспламенений, снижена вероятность контакта паров горючих жидкостей с раскалёнными металлоконструкциями и взрывов. Стало возможно эффективно использовать установки пенного пожаротушения для предотвращения пожаров и взрывов при разливах нефти или нефтепродуктов. Появился ранее невозможный метод подслойного тушения горючих жидкостей. То есть, можно сказать без преувеличения, что с появлением новых типов пенообразователей в пенном пожаротушении произошла научно-техническая революция.

Создание в 2004 году нашей компании обусловлено именно появлением и развитием в России инновационных технологий пенного пожаротушения, и, естественно, мы ориентируем наших партнёров на современные типы пенообразователей и предлагаем весь спектр противопожарного оборудования для реализации новых технологий пенного пожаротушения на их основе.

Преимущества новых технологий пенного пожаротушения показаны в таблице ниже, разработанной на основе данных ГОСТ Р 50588-2012.

Сравниваемые показатели Традиционные технологии пенного пожаротушения Современные технологии пенного пожаротушения
Тип пенообразователя и кратность применяемой пены синтетический углеводородный пенообразователь, пена средней кратности плёнкообразующий пенообразователь, пена низкой кратности
Принцип тушения изоляция горючего от воздуха пеной средней кратности изоляция горючего от воздуха за счёт выделяющейся из пены тонкой изолирующей плёнки раствора пенообразователя
Время тушения условного очага согласно ГОСТ Р 50588-2012, с, не более 300 120
Время повторного воспламенения*, с, не менее не нормируется 330
Возможность использования для предотвращения взрывов и пожаров при разливах практически отсутствует (ограничена несколькими минутами) прямое назначение (до 2-3 часов изолирует горючее)
Растекаемость по поверхности горючей жидкости не нормируется определена в ГОСТ Р 53280.2‑2010

Примечание

* Показатель времени изоляции горючего от воздуха после тушения пожара. Характеризует способность пены не допускать прохождение паров горючего, выделяющихся с разогретых слоёв после ликвидации горения.

Тушение н-гептана в модельном очаге пенообразователями различных типов

Тушение пеной средней кратности синтетическими углеводородными пенообразователями типа S

Тушение пеной низкой кратности синтетическими фторсодержащими плёнкообразующими пенообразователями типа AFFF, AFFF/AR и AFFF/AR-LV

Горение модельного очага

Тушение модельного очага

Модельный очаг потушен

Защита от повторного возгорания

Примерно в то же время появился ещё один новый метод пожаротушения – объёмное пожаротушение пеной высокой кратности, – который значительно превышает по всем параметрам объёмное пожаротушение пеной средней кратности. Достаточно сказать, что кратность пены у генераторов типа ГПС составляет до 100, а у генераторов высокократной пены ГВПЭ «Фаворит» достигает 800. При этом не требуется применение плёнкообразующих пенообразователей, так как принцип ликвидации пожара заключается в создании слоя высокократной пены, заполняющего весь защищаемый объём и не поддерживающего процесс горения.

Принцип объёмного тушения

В данном случае достаточно применения обычных синтетических пенообразователей, а новизна заключается в применении нового типа оборудования – генераторов высокократной пены эжекционных.

Подача высокократной пены генератором типа ГВПЭ

Новые принципы тушения подтверждены работами российских и зарубежных исследователей и приняты в международных нормах и нормативной базе Российской Федерации. На сегодняшний день технологии на основе применения плёнкообразующих пенообразователей являются приоритетными при создании систем противопожарной защиты.

Наряду с новыми технологиями на многих объектах предусматриваются и традиционные методы тушения по площади и объёму пеной средней кратности, что также допускается требованиями нормативных документов РФ. Это связано с наличием большого количества систем противопожарной защиты на основе синтетических углеводородных пенообразователей, созданных в предыдущие годы на различных объектах промышленности. И хотя в ряде случаев использование данного метода остаётся достаточно эффективным, основу таких систем составляют установки пенного пожаротушения с разветвлённой сетью заполненных растворопроводов. При расширении существующих систем противопожарной защиты ГК «Пожнефтехим» рекомендует рассмотреть возможность поэтапной реконструкции с переходом на новые эффективные виды пенообразователей и соответствующее противопожарное оборудование. Основные подходы к решению данных проблем отражены в подразделе «Рекомендации по поэтапной реконструкции систем (установок) пенного пожаротушения с переходом на современные технологии пенного пожаротушения».

ГК «Пожнефтехим» предлагает широкий выбор пенообразователей и смачивателей «Аквафом». Выбор типа пенообразователя и его характеристик – один из ключевых вопросов при создании эффективных систем противопожарной защиты. Возможные пути решения данного вопроса отражены в подразделе «Рекомендации по выбору типа и характеристик пенообразователей при проектировании систем (установок) пожаротушения».

При возникновении сложностей или вопросов при выборе методов пенного пожаротушения, типов пенообразователей и их характеристик просим Вас обратиться к специалистам нашей организации.